Close
SAAI Factory, CryptoVoxels, Christoph Faulhaber
  • Exhibition

Super Artistic AI – SAAI Factory

  • Digital-Art
  • Post-Internet
Image: SAAI Factory, CryptoVoxels, Christoph Faulhaber

The aim of the project is to develop new approaches to the interplay between art and AI and to explore the potential of synergy between the viewer, the artwork and one’s own artistic activity. Through a worldwide call for proposals and with a network of international partner institutions, a hybrid hackathon was initiated that took place simultaneously at different locations around the world. At the International Summer Festival, the public was able to accompany the creation process of the artistic works for two days in an expansive installation. For this, the various art and programming teams worked in a moderated process in person or via video stream in the Kampnagel Halle. Following the hackathon, further presentations were shown at the Woods Art Institute near Hamburg, Spazju Kreattiv in Malta and Alserkal Avenue in Dubai.

Target group: Artists, hackers, programmers, designers, tech evangelists, creatives and developers.

Greatest challenge and greatest joy: The communication between all participants in such an international and professionally differentiated process

Important insight from the AUTONOM project: Everything takes much longer and is much more difficult than initially thought

Most important prerequisite and framework conditions: Access to digital infrastructure and informatic knowledge

Importance of AI and digitality for the future of the performing arts: We live in a world of change, upheaval and crisis. Accompanied and triggered by the change in aesthetic perception and technological development. The arrival of autonomous, non-human agents accelerates the culture war of global postmodernism. Artificial intelligence demands a redefinition of human concepts such as identity, consciousness, intelligence, ethics, morality, aesthetics and art.

We need a new form of experience to meet this challenge; a form that promotes legibility and understanding, discussion and production of and with artificial intelligence; and the capacity to apply a new cultural technique to a paradigm shift that is emerging in the digital and mental.

Desired AI for society: Super artistic AI as the workbench of a global AI literacy

 

Team:

Areej Al-Wabil, Riyadh, Boston

Mohamed Elhoseiny, Thuwal, San Francisco

Christoph Faulhaber, Hamburg

Archana Prasad, Bangalore, Seattle

Sarah Steffens, Hamburg

Isaac Sullivan, Dubai

Verena Voigt, Potsdam

 

Founding year and location: 2021 Hamburg

Play and work location:

August 2021, Kampnagel Hamburg, International Summerfestival

November 2021, Woods Art Institute, India Week Hamburg

May 2022, Spazju Kreattiv, Malta

June 2022, Alserkal Avenue, Dubai

The aim of the project is to develop new approaches to the interplay between art and AI and to explore the potential of synergy between the viewer, the artwork and one’s own artistic activity. Through a worldwide call for proposals and with a network of international partner institutions, a hybrid hackathon was initiated that took place simultaneously at different locations around the world. At the International Summer Festival, the public was able to accompany the creation process of the artistic works for two days in an expansive installation. For this, the various art and programming teams worked in a moderated process in person or via video stream in the Kampnagel Halle. Following the hackathon, further presentations were shown at the Woods Art Institute near Hamburg, Spazju Kreattiv in Malta and Alserkal Avenue in Dubai.

Target group: Artists, hackers, programmers, designers, tech evangelists, creatives and developers.

Greatest challenge and greatest joy: The communication between all participants in such an international and professionally differentiated process

Important insight from the AUTONOM project: Everything takes much longer and is much more difficult than initially thought

Most important prerequisite and framework conditions: Access to digital infrastructure and informatic knowledge

Importance of AI and digitality for the future of the performing arts: We live in a world of change, upheaval and crisis. Accompanied and triggered by the change in aesthetic perception and technological development. The arrival of autonomous, non-human agents accelerates the culture war of global postmodernism. Artificial intelligence demands a redefinition of human concepts such as identity, consciousness, intelligence, ethics, morality, aesthetics and art.

We need a new form of experience to meet this challenge; a form that promotes legibility and understanding, discussion and production of and with artificial intelligence; and the capacity to apply a new cultural technique to a paradigm shift that is emerging in the digital and mental.

Desired AI for society: Super artistic AI as the workbench of a global AI literacy

 

Team:

Areej Al-Wabil, Riyadh, Boston

Mohamed Elhoseiny, Thuwal, San Francisco

Christoph Faulhaber, Hamburg

Archana Prasad, Bangalore, Seattle

Sarah Steffens, Hamburg

Isaac Sullivan, Dubai

Verena Voigt, Potsdam

 

Founding year and location: 2021 Hamburg

Play and work location:

August 2021, Kampnagel Hamburg, International Summerfestival

November 2021, Woods Art Institute, India Week Hamburg

May 2022, Spazju Kreattiv, Malta

June 2022, Alserkal Avenue, Dubai

Schliessen
SAAI Factory, CryptoVoxels, Christoph Faulhaber
  • Ausstellung

Super Artistic AI – SAAI Factory

  • Digital-Art
  • Post-Internet
Bild: SAAI Factory, CryptoVoxels, Christoph Faulhaber

Das Ziel des Projekts ist es, neue Ansätze für das Zusammenspiel von Kunst und KI zu entwickeln und das Potential der Synergie zwischen den Betrachter*innen, dem Kunstwerk und der eigenen künstlerischen Tätigkeit auszuloten. Per weltweiter Ausschreibung und mit einem Netzwerk internationaler Partnerinstitutionen wurde ein hybrider und weltweit an unterschiedlichen Orten zeitgleich stattfindender Hackathon initiiert. Auf dem Internationalen Sommerfestival konnte das Publikum in einer raumgreifenden Installation zwei Tage lang den Entstehungsprozess der künstlerischen Arbeiten begleiten. Dafür arbeiteten die verschiedenen Kunst- und Programmier-Teams in einem moderierten Prozess persönlich oder via Videostream in der Kampnagel Halle. Im Anschluss an den Hackathon waren weitere Präsentationen im Woods Art Institute bei Hamburg, im Spazju Kreattiv in Malta und der Alserkal Avenue in Dubai zu sehen.

 

Publikum Zielgruppe: Künstler‘, Hacker‘, Programmierer‘, Designer‘, Tech-Evangelisten‘, Kreative und Entwickler’innen

Größte Herausforderung und größte Freude: Die Kommunikation zwischen allen Beteiligten in einem solchen internationalen und fachlich differenzierten Prozess

Wichtige Erkenntnis aus dem AUTONOM Projekt: Alles dauert viel länger und ist viel schwieriger als anfangs gedacht

Wichtigste Voraussetzung und Rahmenbedingungen: Zugang zu digitaler Infrastruktur und informatischem Wissen

Bedeutung von KI und Digitalität für die Zukunft der darstellenden Künste: Wir leben in einer Welt des Wandels, des Umbruchs und der Krise. Noch immer, immer noch. Begleitet und ausgelöst durch den Wandel der ästhetischen Wahrnehmung und der technologischen Entwicklung. Die Ankunft autonomer, nichtmenschlicher Agenten beschleunigt den Kulturkampf der globalen Postmoderne. Künstliche Intelligenz fordert eine Neubestimmung menschlicher Konzepte, wie Identität, Bewusstsein, Intelligenz, Ethik, Moral, Ästhetik und Kunst.

Wir brauchen eine neue Form der Erfahrung, die sich dieser Herausforderung stellt; eine Form, die Lesbarkeit und Verständnis, Diskussion und Produktion von und mit künstlicher Intelligenz fördert; und das Vermögen, eine neue Kulturtechnik auf einen Paradigmenwechsel anzuwenden, der sich im Digitalen und Mentalen abzeichnet.

Wunsch-KI für die Gesellschaft: Super Artistic AI als Werkbank einer globalen AI-Literacy

 

Team:

Areej Al-Wabil, Riyadh, Boston

Mohamed Elhoseiny, Thuwal, San Francisco

Christoph Faulhaber, Hamburg

Archana Prasad, Bangalore, Seattle

Sarah Steffens, Hamburg

Isaac Sullivan, Dubai

Verena Voigt, Potsdam

 

Gründungsjahr und -Ort: 2021 Hamburg

Spiel- und Arbeitsort:

August 2021, Kampnagel Hamburg, Internationales Sommerfestival

November 2021, Woods Art Institute, India Week Hamburg

Mai 2022, Spazju Kreattiv, Malta

Juni 2022, Alserkal Avenue, Dubai

Weblinks

Das Ziel des Projekts ist es, neue Ansätze für das Zusammenspiel von Kunst und KI zu entwickeln und das Potential der Synergie zwischen den Betrachter*innen, dem Kunstwerk und der eigenen künstlerischen Tätigkeit auszuloten. Per weltweiter Ausschreibung und mit einem Netzwerk internationaler Partnerinstitutionen wurde ein hybrider und weltweit an unterschiedlichen Orten zeitgleich stattfindender Hackathon initiiert. Auf dem Internationalen Sommerfestival konnte das Publikum in einer raumgreifenden Installation zwei Tage lang den Entstehungsprozess der künstlerischen Arbeiten begleiten. Dafür arbeiteten die verschiedenen Kunst- und Programmier-Teams in einem moderierten Prozess persönlich oder via Videostream in der Kampnagel Halle. Im Anschluss an den Hackathon waren weitere Präsentationen im Woods Art Institute bei Hamburg, im Spazju Kreattiv in Malta und der Alserkal Avenue in Dubai zu sehen.

 

Publikum Zielgruppe: Künstler‘, Hacker‘, Programmierer‘, Designer‘, Tech-Evangelisten‘, Kreative und Entwickler’innen

Größte Herausforderung und größte Freude: Die Kommunikation zwischen allen Beteiligten in einem solchen internationalen und fachlich differenzierten Prozess

Wichtige Erkenntnis aus dem AUTONOM Projekt: Alles dauert viel länger und ist viel schwieriger als anfangs gedacht

Wichtigste Voraussetzung und Rahmenbedingungen: Zugang zu digitaler Infrastruktur und informatischem Wissen

Bedeutung von KI und Digitalität für die Zukunft der darstellenden Künste: Wir leben in einer Welt des Wandels, des Umbruchs und der Krise. Noch immer, immer noch. Begleitet und ausgelöst durch den Wandel der ästhetischen Wahrnehmung und der technologischen Entwicklung. Die Ankunft autonomer, nichtmenschlicher Agenten beschleunigt den Kulturkampf der globalen Postmoderne. Künstliche Intelligenz fordert eine Neubestimmung menschlicher Konzepte, wie Identität, Bewusstsein, Intelligenz, Ethik, Moral, Ästhetik und Kunst.

Wir brauchen eine neue Form der Erfahrung, die sich dieser Herausforderung stellt; eine Form, die Lesbarkeit und Verständnis, Diskussion und Produktion von und mit künstlicher Intelligenz fördert; und das Vermögen, eine neue Kulturtechnik auf einen Paradigmenwechsel anzuwenden, der sich im Digitalen und Mentalen abzeichnet.

Wunsch-KI für die Gesellschaft: Super Artistic AI als Werkbank einer globalen AI-Literacy

 

Team:

Areej Al-Wabil, Riyadh, Boston

Mohamed Elhoseiny, Thuwal, San Francisco

Christoph Faulhaber, Hamburg

Archana Prasad, Bangalore, Seattle

Sarah Steffens, Hamburg

Isaac Sullivan, Dubai

Verena Voigt, Potsdam

 

Gründungsjahr und -Ort: 2021 Hamburg

Spiel- und Arbeitsort:

August 2021, Kampnagel Hamburg, Internationales Sommerfestival

November 2021, Woods Art Institute, India Week Hamburg

Mai 2022, Spazju Kreattiv, Malta

Juni 2022, Alserkal Avenue, Dubai